Assault

Assault Charges in Arizona

Under A.R.S. § 13-1203, Arizona divides assaults into three categories: paragraph 1, paragraph 2, and paragraph 3 assaults.

A paragraph 1 assault is when a person commits assault by intentionally, knowingly or recklessly causing any physical injury to another person. A paragraph 1 assault committed intentionally or knowingly, according to the statute, is a class 1 misdemeanor, while a paragraph 1 assault committed recklessly is a class 2 misdemeanor. Under A.R.S. §§ 13-707, 13-802, and 13-902, a class 1 misdemeanor has a maximum sentence of six months in jail, up to $2,500 in fines before surcharges, and up to three years of probation. A class 2 misdemeanor has a maximum sentence of four months in jail, up to $750 in fines before surcharges, and up to two years of probation.

A paragraph 2 assault occurs when a person commits assault by intentionally placing another person in reasonable apprehension of imminent physical injury. A paragraph 2 assault is a class 2 misdemeanor. A class 2 misdemeanor has a maximum sentence of four months in jail, up to $750 in fines before surcharges, and up to two years of probation.

A paragraph 3 assault occurs when a person commits assault by knowingly touching another person with the intent to injure, insult, or provoke such person. A paragraph 3 assault is a class 3 misdemeanor. A class 3 misdemeanor has a maximum sentence of 30 days in jail, up to $500 in fines before surcharges, and up to one year of probation.

If you are facing assault charges in Phoenix or other areas of Arizona, you’ll need a criminal defense attorney you can rely on. Contact us today for a free consultation.

Share