Penalties for Driving Without Insurance in Arizona

 

Arizona Insurance Requirements

Driving without the required insurance in Arizona is a civil traffic violation that results in a traffic ticket.

Arizona requires drivers to have liability insurance that meets the state’s minimum requirements for both bodily injury and property damage coverage.

If you own and drive a car in Arizona, you must have insurance at least the following coverage:

  • $15,000 in bodily injury liability coverage for every person who will be in or driving the vehicle
  • $30,000 in coverage per auto accident when the accident causes injuries to more than one person
  • $10,000 in property damage coverage

Failing to have your insurance card with you at the time of a ticket is not the same as driving without insurance.

If you are given a ticket but do have insurance, simply produce evidence of insurance on or before the date of your ticket. This will ensure your charge for driving without insurance is dismissed.

Penalties for Driving Without Insurance

If you do drive without insurance, the consequences can be severe.

First offense penalties may include:

  • A $500 fine.
  • 3-month suspension of your Arizona driver’s license and license plates.
  • An SR-22 certificate for 2 years (this certificate informs insurance companies you are a high-risk driver, leading to higher premiums)

Second offense penalties include:

  • A $750 fine.
  • 6-month suspension of the Arizona driver’s license and license plates.
  • An SR-22 certificate for 2 years.

Third offense penalties include:

  • A $1,000 fine.
  • 1-year suspension of the Arizona driver’s license and license plates.
  • An SR-22 certificate for 2 years.

If you are charged with driving without insurance, contact an Arizona civil traffic defense lawyer immediately.

Share