How Many Points Will I Get for This Traffic Offense?

Points for Traffic Offenses

Points for Traffic Offenses

Any time Arizona convicts you of a moving traffic violation or you forfeit bail following one, the state will issue points that go against your permanent driving record. If you collect 8 or more points within any 12-month time period, Arizona may require you to go to Traffic Survival School. You could also have your driving privileges suspended for as long as a year. Here, you’ll find detailed information about the points that the state issues based upon the type of offense.

Arizona Traffic Tickets

In the state, traffic tickets are separated into two categories, which are civil and criminal. A civil citation is a basic minor moving violation. Each violation comes with a point penalty. So, for:

·        Speeding, you’ll incur 3 points

·        A failure to stop for a traffic signal or a stop sign or yield properly, you’ll receive 4 points

·        Driving over or parking in a gore section, you’ll gain 3 points

·        Following another driver too closely, expect to acquire 2 points

Criminal Traffic Violations:

Arizona separates criminal violations into misdemeanors and felonies. Misdemeanors include driving under the influence (DUI) and reckless driving while felonies involve more serious actions. For instance, you will face felony charges if you try to evade the police or are responsible for a DUI-related accident that caused another person to be injured or killed. We hope that you never have to worry about the repercussions for a felony, which include time spent in jail as well as large fines. Misdemeanors happen more frequently. Here’s a list of misdemeanors and the points you would receive for them.

·        Aggressive driving : 8 points against your driving record

  • 30-day suspension on your license.

·        Hit-and-run : 6 points

  • License suspension

·        DUI : 8 points and have your license suspended immediately.

  • Jail time

  • Fines

·        Extreme DUI : 8 points to your driving record

  • License suspension

  • Fines

  • Jail time

·        Reckless driving : 8 points for reckless driving

  • Possible license suspension

·        A moving violation that caused a death: 6 points on your driving record

  • 3 year license suspension

  • Possible jail time

Removing Traffic Points:

If you receive a traffic violation conviction, then you may have the option of going through an Arizona defensive driving school course. By taking a course, the citation points won’t be added to your driving record, keeping your insurance rates from rising. If you have questions about the driving points or are in a position of having them added, contact us at the Tyler Allen law firm. We have experience defending people for all types of violations.

Contact the Tyler Allen Law Firm by filling out the form on this page or calling (602) 456-0545.  

Melanie Jorgensen