What is the difference between Simple Assault and Aggravated Assault?
Arizona law states an assault charge involve either the threat of physical harm to a person, or actual physical harm to a person due to the violent nature of the crime, ARS 13-1203.
Simple Assault and Aggravated Assault
Arizona law divides assault charges into two offenses: simple assault or misdemeanor assault and aggravated assault, a class 3 felony in the state of Arizona.
Simple assault in Arizona is considered a class 3 felony and results when you:
· Cause physical injury to another person
· Put someone else in fear of bodily harm
· Touch another person with the intent to cause physical injury
If convicted of a simple assault charge, you could face the following penalties:
12 months in prison
Up to $2,500 in fines
Aggravated assault in Arizona results when you:
Cause serious physical injury to another
Use deadly weapon to commit a crime
Cause substantial disfigurement
Commit the assault after entering a private residence
Commit the assault against a police officer, prison guard, firefighter, teacher, or medical professional
If convicted of aggravated assault, you could face the following penalties:
5 to 15 years in prison
If you have been charged with a simple or aggravated assault charge, contact a criminal defense attorney at the Tyler Allen Law Firm today by filling out the online form found on this page or calling (602) 456-0545.