Misdemeanor Classes in Arizona [Infographic]
Like most states, Arizona criminal law classifies misdemeanors based on the severity of the offense.
The most severe offenses in Arizona are classified as felonies, which often lead to prison time.
Although misdemeanors do not result in prison sentences, misdemeanors can still result in jail time, fines and additional penalties that negatively affect an Arizona defendant's life.
Arizona misdemeanors are separated into three classes.
Class 3 Misdemeanors
A Class 3 misdemeanor is considered the least severe form of Arizona misdemeanor offense.
That said, even a Class 3 misdemeanor conviction can alter the course of a defendant's life.
A Class 3 conviction can result in a 30-day jail sentence, a $500 fine and a year of probation time.
Common Class 3 misdemeanors in the state include:
Criminal trespass in the third degree
Violation of a promise to appear
Class 2 Misdemeanors
A Class 2 misdemeanor conviction can lead to a sentence of up to four months in jail, a $750 fine and up to two years of probation time as well.
Common Class 2 misdemeanors are:
Criminal trespassing in the second degree
Class 1 Misdemeanors
Class 1 misdemeanor convictions may lead to a 6-month jail sentence, a $2,500 fine and three years of probation time.
These severe misdemeanor consequences are possible outcomes for the following Class 1 misdemeanors:
Possession of marijuana when cited by Arizona law enforcement
Domestic violence offenses, which include disorderly conduct
Assault that causes physical injury
If you’ve been charged with a misdemeanor in Phoenix, AZ, get trusted legal counsel to work on your case.
Call Tyler Allen Law Firm today, or contact us online.
Sources: https://www.azleg.gov/ars/13/00707.htm https://www.allenlawaz.com/can-go-jail-misdemeanor-arizona/